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WIRELESS E-911 SURCHARGE REMITTANCE PROCEDURES

Pennsylvania Act 56 of 2003 amended the Public Safety Emergency Telephone Act by
authorizing a wireless surcharge of $1.00 per month for each activated wireless service
device. Effective July 1, 2004, all wireless providers, including resellers, providing service
as defined in §5302 of Chapter 53, Emergency Telephone Service, of Title 35 of the
Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes (Chapter 53) in the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania are
required to collect and remit the wireless E-911 surcharge to the Department of Treasury.
The surcharge shall be collected in addition to any other fee(s) assessed to wireless
subscribers.

Section 5311.4(c) of Chapter 53, requires wireless providers, including affiliate re-sellers, to
remit the wireless surcharge to the State Treasurer at least quarterly. Funds remitted to
the State Treasurer are deposited into a non-lapsing, restricted, interest-bearing account
known as the Wireless E-911 Emergency Services Fund.

Essential to the remittance process is compliance by wireless providers, and enforcement of
the provisions for instances of non-compliance. Section 5311.13 provides that:

“In addition to any powers expressly enumerated in this Chapter, the Agency
has the power and duty to enforce and execute, by its regulations or
otherwise, this Chapter. The Agency may institute injunction, mandamus or
other appropriate legal proceedings to enforce this Chapter and regulations
promulgated under this Chapter.”

Along with the “Wireless E-911 Surcharge Remittance Report” forms for providers to
submit with each wireless remittance, the Pennsylvania Emergency Management Agency
(PEMA) has established this Wireless 9-1-1 surcharge remittance procedures with which
providers must comply.

Every wireless provider that provides Wireless service in the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania
is expected to comply with these procedures. Section 5311.4(d)(1) of Chapter 53
authorizes wireless providers to retain up to two percent (or two cents per dollar collected)
of the gross receipts collected as reimbursement for the administrative costs associated
with billing, collecting, and remitting the surcharge. Section 5311.4(e) requires wireless
providers to provide certain information with each remittance. Failure to submit such
information to PEMA shall constitute a violation of the Laws of the Commonwealth of
Pennsylvania.

A. General Procedures

1. Every wireless provider shall provide to PEMA and every county that they provide
service in with a 24-hour, seven-days-a-week emergency contact name and number
to be used by PSAP’s in emergency and exigent situations.

2. The following procedures provide wireless providers, including affiliate re-sellers,
with the process established by the Pennsylvania Emergency Management Agency
(PEMA) governing the remittance of the wireless E-911 surcharge. These procedures
are effective March 1, 2005, as revised July 20, 2011.
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B. Procedures for Wireless Providers Remitting to the State Treasurer

1.

Every wireless provider shall submit, on official corporate letterhead, a letter
requesting banking information from the Commonwealth for transmittal of
remittances. This letter shall also clarify whether transmittal will be done via wire
transfer or ACH transfer. Correspondence shall be mailed to:

David O. Wightman
PEMA

Bureau of 9-1-1

2605 Interstate Drive
Harrisburg, PA 17110

All wireless providers offering wireless service (as defined in 35 Pa. C.S. § 5302)
must remit. Wireless providers are requested to remit funds to the State Treasurer
monthly. The statutory requirement is to remit quarterly. Funds must be received
in the form of wire transfers, ACH transfers or checks. Checks must be made
payable to "Commonwealth of Pennsylvania”. No cash transmittals will be accepted
under any circumstance. All remittances done via wire transfer must be routed to
the Department of Treasury. Correspondence accompanying remittance information
shall indicate that the funds are “Wireless 911 Surcharges” and must contain the
date of funds transfer, the period of time the surcharges cover and the
provider’'s PA Customer Number.

Funds remitted by check shall be mailed to:

Comptroller Operations
Accounts Receivable
P.O. Box 2833
Harrisburg, PA 17101

Wireless providers shall remit to the State the entire wireless surcharge and accrued
interest less the actual uncollectible and less the approved administrative fee on a
quarterly basis. The quarterly payment shall be made within 15 days of the end of
each calendar quarter.

Quarterly payments are due according to the following schedule:

Payment Due Date Remittance Period
April 15 January, February, March
July 15 April, May, June
October 15 July, August, September
January 15 October, November, December
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Monthly payments are due according to the following schedule:

Payment Due Date

Remittance Period

January 15 December
February 15 January
March 15 February
April 15 March
May 15 April

June 15 May

July 15 June
August 15 July
September 15 August
October 15 September
November 15 October
December 15 November

5. For wireless providers remitting monthly, payments are due not later than 15 days
from the end of the calendar month.

6. Every wireless provider remitting to the State Treasurer shall complete and submit
via email to PEMA the “Wireless E-911 Surcharge State Remittance Report,”
which is a separate Excel spreadsheet, and attached to these procedures
(Appendix A). In addition, the “"Wireless E-911 Surcharge State Remittance
Report” is available on the PEMA Web site at www.pema.state.pa.us. Each wireless
provider must indicate the "“Date of Funds Transfer” and the provider’s
PA Customer Number on the remittance report. Providers shall email the
“Wireless E-911 Surcharge State Remittance Report” to PEMA as follows:

Email to: PABureau911Remittance@pa.gov

7. Wireless providers shall email the “"Wireless E-911 Surcharge State Remittance
Report” to PEMA at least two days prior to the date the funds are to be transferred.
The provider’'s PA Customer Number must be included on the Wireless E-911
Surcharge State Remittance Report.

a. For wireless providers remitting monthly, the “Wireless E-911 State
Remittance Report” shall be due not later than the 13th of each month,
immediately following the monthly collection period, in accordance with the
schedule below:

Transmittal Due

Remittance Due Date Remittance Period

January 15 December January 13
February 15 January February 13
March 15 February March 13
April 15 March April 13

May 15 April May 13

June 15 May June 13

July 15 June July 13
August 15 July August 13
September 15 August September 13
October 15 September October 13
November 15 October November 13
December 15 November December 13
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b. For wireless providers remitting quarterly, the "“Wireless E-911 State
Remittance Report” is due not later than the 13th day of the month
immediately following the quarterly remittance period in accordance with the
following schedule:

Remittance Due Date Remittance Period Transmittal Due
April 15 January, February, March April 13
July 15 April, May, June July 13
October 15 July, August, September October 13
January 15 October, November, December January 13

8. In the event a holiday or weekend precludes the wireless provider from transferring
funds according to the remittance schedule outlined above, the wireless provider
shall take the necessary steps to ensure the funds transfer and email communication
are accomplished not later than the last business day preceding the holiday or
weekend.

9. If the entire Wireless E-911 surcharge and accrued interest are not received by the
due date of the remittance period, PEMA reserves the right to pursue collection
efforts under §5307(e) of Chapter 53, on any funds not remitted pursuant to the
procedures listed above and in Chapter 53.
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