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WIRELESS E-911 SURCHARGE REMITTANCE PROCEDURES 

 

Pennsylvania Act 56 of 2003 amended the Public Safety Emergency Telephone Act by 

authorizing a wireless surcharge of $1.00 per month for each activated wireless service 

device.  Effective July 1, 2004, all wireless providers, including resellers, providing service 

as defined in §5302 of Chapter 53, Emergency Telephone Service, of Title 35 of the 

Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes (Chapter 53) in the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania are 

required to collect and remit the wireless E-911 surcharge to the Department of Treasury.  

The surcharge shall be collected in addition to any other fee(s) assessed to wireless 

subscribers. 

 

Section 5311.4(c) of Chapter 53, requires wireless providers, including affiliate re-sellers, to 

remit the wireless surcharge to the State Treasurer at least quarterly.  Funds remitted to 

the State Treasurer are deposited into a non-lapsing, restricted, interest-bearing account 

known as the Wireless E-911 Emergency Services Fund. 

 

Essential to the remittance process is compliance by wireless providers, and enforcement of 

the provisions for instances of non-compliance.  Section 5311.13 provides that: 

 

“In addition to any powers expressly enumerated in this Chapter, the Agency 

has the power and duty to enforce and execute, by its regulations or 

otherwise, this Chapter.  The Agency may institute injunction, mandamus or 

other appropriate legal proceedings to enforce this Chapter and regulations 

promulgated under this Chapter.” 

 

Along with the “Wireless E-911 Surcharge Remittance Report” forms for providers to 

submit with each wireless remittance, the Pennsylvania Emergency Management Agency 

(PEMA) has established this Wireless 9-1-1 surcharge remittance procedures with which 

providers must comply. 

 

Every wireless provider that provides Wireless service in the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania 

is expected to comply with these procedures.  Section 5311.4(d)(1) of Chapter 53 

authorizes wireless providers to retain up to two percent (or two cents per dollar collected) 

of the gross receipts collected as reimbursement for the administrative costs associated 

with billing, collecting, and remitting the surcharge.  Section 5311.4(e) requires wireless 

providers to provide certain information with each remittance.  Failure to submit such 

information to PEMA shall constitute a violation of the Laws of the Commonwealth of 

Pennsylvania. 

 

A. General Procedures 

1. Every wireless provider shall provide to PEMA and every county that they provide 

service in with a 24-hour, seven-days-a-week emergency contact name and number 

to be used by PSAP’s in emergency and exigent situations. 

2. The following procedures provide wireless providers, including affiliate re-sellers, 

with the process established by the Pennsylvania Emergency Management Agency 

(PEMA) governing the remittance of the wireless E-911 surcharge.  These procedures 

are effective March 1, 2005, as revised July 20, 2011. 
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B. Procedures for Wireless  Providers Remitting to the State Treasurer 

 

1. Every wireless provider shall submit, on official corporate letterhead, a letter 

requesting banking information from the Commonwealth for transmittal of 

remittances.  This letter shall also clarify whether transmittal will be done via wire 

transfer or ACH transfer.  Correspondence shall be mailed to: 

 

David O. Wightman 

PEMA 

Bureau of 9-1-1 

2605 Interstate Drive 

Harrisburg, PA  17110 

 

2. All wireless providers offering wireless service (as defined in 35 Pa. C.S. § 5302) 

must remit.  Wireless providers are requested to remit funds to the State Treasurer 

monthly.  The statutory requirement is to remit quarterly.  Funds must be received 

in the form of wire transfers, ACH transfers or checks.  Checks must be made 

payable to “Commonwealth of Pennsylvania”.  No cash transmittals will be accepted 

under any circumstance.  All remittances done via wire transfer must be routed to 

the Department of Treasury.  Correspondence accompanying remittance information 

shall indicate that the funds are “Wireless 911 Surcharges” and must contain the 

date of funds transfer, the period of time the surcharges cover and the 

provider’s PA Customer Number. 

 

3.  Funds remitted by check shall be mailed to: 

 

Comptroller Operations 

Accounts Receivable 

P.O. Box 2833 

Harrisburg, PA  17101 

 

4. Wireless providers shall remit to the State the entire wireless surcharge and accrued 

interest less the actual uncollectible and less the approved administrative fee on a 

quarterly basis.  The quarterly payment shall be made within 15 days of the end of 

each calendar quarter. 

 

 Quarterly payments are due according to the following schedule: 

 

Payment Due Date   Remittance Period 

April 15 January, February, March 

July 15 April, May, June 

October 15  July, August, September 

January 15  October, November, December 
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5. For wireless providers remitting monthly, payments are due not later than 15 days 

from the end of the calendar month. 

 

 Monthly payments are due according to the following schedule: 

 

Payment Due Date   Remittance Period 

 January 15 December 

February 15 January 

March 15 February 

April 15 March 

May 15 April 

June 15 May 

July 15 June 

August 15 July 

September 15 August 

October 15 September 

November 15 October 

December 15 November 

 

6. Every wireless provider remitting to the State Treasurer shall complete and submit 

via email to PEMA the “Wireless E-911 Surcharge State Remittance Report,” 

which is a separate Excel spreadsheet, and attached to these procedures    

(Appendix A).  In addition, the “Wireless E-911 Surcharge State Remittance 

Report” is available on the PEMA Web site at www.pema.state.pa.us.  Each wireless 

provider must indicate the “Date of Funds Transfer” and the provider’s              

PA Customer Number on the remittance report.  Providers shall email the 

“Wireless E-911 Surcharge State Remittance Report” to PEMA as follows: 

 

Email to: PABureau911Remittance@pa.gov 

 

7. Wireless providers shall email the “Wireless E-911 Surcharge State Remittance 

Report” to PEMA at least two days prior to the date the funds are to be transferred.  

The provider’s PA Customer Number must be included on the Wireless E-911 

Surcharge State Remittance Report. 

 

a. For wireless providers remitting monthly, the “Wireless E-911 State 

Remittance Report” shall be due not later than the 13th of each month, 

immediately following the monthly collection period, in accordance with the 

schedule below: 

 

Remittance Due Date Remittance Period Transmittal Due 

January 15 December January 13 

February 15 January February 13 

March 15 February March 13 

April 15 March April 13 

May 15 April May 13 

June 15 May June 13 

July 15 June July 13 

August 15 July August 13 

September 15 August September 13 

October 15 September October 13 

November 15 October November 13 

December 15 November December 13 

http://www.pema.state.pa.us/
mailto:PABureau911Remittance@pa.gov


PEMA Wireless Remittance Procedures 
Revised July 20, 2011 5 

b. For wireless providers remitting quarterly, the “Wireless E-911 State 

Remittance Report” is due not later than the 13th day of the month 

immediately following the quarterly remittance period in accordance with the 

following schedule: 

 

Remittance Due Date Remittance Period Transmittal Due 

April 15 January, February, March April 13 

July 15 April, May, June July 13 

October 15 July, August, September October 13 

January 15 October, November, December January 13 

 

8. In the event a holiday or weekend precludes the wireless provider from transferring 

funds according to the remittance schedule outlined above, the wireless provider 

shall take the necessary steps to ensure the funds transfer and email communication 

are accomplished not later than the last business day preceding the holiday or 

weekend. 

 

9. If the entire Wireless E-911 surcharge and accrued interest are not received by the 

due date of the remittance period, PEMA reserves the right to pursue collection 

efforts under §5307(e) of Chapter 53, on any funds not remitted pursuant to the 

procedures listed above and in Chapter 53. 


