Begin Main Content Area

Pre-Disaster Mitigation Program

The grant application period is in fall of each year, with a deadline to the commonwealth by late November. Full applications are due to FEMA by January 31.

PDM Program Overview

The Pre-Disaster Mitigation Grant Program (PDM) is an annually funded nationwide competitive grant program; a federal disaster declaration is not required.

As with the Flood Mitigation Assistance program, this program is open to any local governments or eligible organizations; individuals cannot apply directly for the program.

The federal cost share for a PDM project is 75 percent. At minimum, a FEMA-approved local flood mitigation plan is required before a project can be approved. Some funding is available for planning.

Are You Eligible?

Only the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania may apply as an applicant.

Sub-applications must come from local governments or other eligible organizations; individuals cannot apply directly for the program.

Eligible entities may submit the PEMA Form #19 Letter of Interest year-round to get on a annual listing.  The agency issues a Application Circular once the FEMA Notice of Funding Opportunity is opened each year which provides timelines on the application submissions to FEMA.

How Can These Funds be Used?

PDM is designed to assist states, territories, federally-recognized tribes, and local communities in implementing a sustained pre-disaster natural hazard mitigation program.

The goal is to reduce overall risk to the population and structures from future hazard events, while also reducing reliance on federal funding in future disasters. 

This program awards planning and project grants and provides opportunities for raising public awareness about reducing future losses before disaster strikes. Mitigation planning is a key process used to break the cycle of disaster damage, reconstruction, and repeated damage.

How to Apply

Applications are submitted electronically through FEMA’s e-Grants System.

What to Expect after Applying

Awards are determined by the federal agency. Award notifications are made to local level after PEMA receives the formal award from the federal agency.