Begin Main Content Area

Central Area Office

PEMA Central Area Office staff works directly with all central 23 counties and municipalities, three regional task forces, and many committees and subcommittees. The central area also works closely with other state and federal agencies that have a role in emergency planning, response and recovery.

The central area counties we work with are:

  • Adams
  • Bedford
  • Blair
  • Bradford
  • Centre
  • Clinton
  • Cumberland
  • Dauphin
  • Franklin
  • Fulton
  • Huntingdon
  • Juniata
  • Lancaster
  • Lebanon
  • Lycoming
  • Mifflin
  • Perry
  • Potter
  • Snyder
  • Sullivan
  • Tioga
  • Union
  • York

Typical threats in central area are flooding, severe storms, fires, hazardous material incidents, and all other threats experienced in the commonwealth. Another growing concern centers around Marcellus shale well drilling and its impact on local emergency providers.

The PEMA Central Area Office is StormReady.


The Central Area Office is located at PEMA headquarters at:

1310 Elmerton Avenue, Harrisburg PA 17110

Contact Us

Office Telephone Number:  717-651-7060

Toll-free in Pennsylvania:  800-272-7362

​Name  ​TitlePhone 
​Robert Then
​Director, Central Area Office​
​Lee Quittschreiber
​Emergency Management Specialist – Planning​717-651-7063
Matt Hobson
​Deputy Director, Central Area Office​717-651-7079
​Antonio “Rob” Pena
​Emergency Management Specialist, Training and Exercise​717-651-7061


Chris Smith
​Emergency Management Specialist, Operations