Pennsylvania Spill Reporting Requirements
*Are you having a hazardous materials emergency? Call 911 now!
Federal and state law requires that the Local Emergency Planning Committee (LEPC), the State Emergency Planning Committee (SERC), and National Response Center (NRC) be notified immediately following a hazardous materials release which is above the Reportable Quantity (RQ) established by the EPA’s List of Lists.
A follow-up report is also required within 14 days for fixed facilities and within 30 days for transportations related incidents.
Initial Report (Immediate Report is Required)
To satisfy these requirements:
- Call 911 immediately – Meets LEPC Notification requirements and initiates emergency response personnel (if required).
- Call the NRC immediately at 1-800-424-8802.
- Call the Commonwealth Watch and Warning Center (CWWC) at PEMA headquarters immediately at 717-651-2001 – Meets SERC Notification requirements and initiates other response activities (if required).
*If the RQ is unknown, follow the reporting requirements above.
In addition to the reporting requirements listed above, the Pennsylvania Department of Environmental Protection (DEP) may also be a required notification. PEMA will notify DEP of all spills which are reported to the CRCC.
Initial Spill Report Requirements
When reporting a hazardous materials spill or release which meets the criteria listed above, please include the following in the initial report:
- Your name, location, organization, and telephone number
- Name and address of the party responsible for the incident; or name of the carrier or vessel, the railcar/truck number, or other identifying information
- Date and time of the incident
- Location of the incident
- Source and cause of the release or spill
- Types of material(s) released or spilled
- Quantity of materials released or spilled
- Medium (e.g. land, water) affected by release or spill
- Danger or threat posed by the release or spill
- Number and types of injuries or fatalities (if any)
- Weather conditions at the incident location
- Whether an evacuation has occurred
- Other agencies notified or about to be notified
- Any other information that may help emergency personnel respond to the incident
Follow-Up Reporting Requirements
Facilities and Static Locations (Tier II Facilities)
In Pennsylvania, a follow-up spill report is required within 14 days of the initial release. EPCRA Section 304 requires this report within 30 days, but Pennsylvania’s Act 165 requires this to be done in 14 days.
Please submit the follow-up spill report to firstname.lastname@example.org in PDF file format.
*The follow-up report requires updates for all the information required in the initial report shown above.
Transportation Incidents and Related Releases
The federal Department of Transportation (DOT) requires a follow-up report for all transportation related hazardous materials spills and releases regardless of size within 30 days of the release.
A DOT 5800-1 Follow-Up Report for transportation related releases must be submitted to the DOT via the Pipeline and Hazardous Materials Safety Administration (PHMSA) online reporting portal within 30 days of the release.
Submit the 5800-1 report.
*You will be required to create a Portal Account in order to submit the 5800-1 form.